Randwick Rugby Club

Sydney Grade Competition, Randwick, Sydney Australia

2017 season recruiting

Sydney grade competition , Australia
  • Looking for

    General Listing

    Season start: 02 May, 2017

  • Looking for

    General Listing

    Season start: 06 Feb, 2016

The Randwick District Rugby Union Football Club (RDRUFC) was established in 1882. The Club has produced many Wallabies and, to this day, continues to be the most recognised Rugby Club in Australia, if not the world.

The Randwick Rugby Club was formed in 1882 and is one of the oldest in Australia. It was admitted to the New South Wales first division in 1889 and was the leading club in the last decade of the nineteenth century winning 4 consecutive first grade premierships from 1894 to 1897, as well as 3 other first grade competitions. In those years the club provided 26 representatives to NSW teams. Its home ground was Randwick Reserve, now Alison Park, in Alison Road, opposite Marcellin College.

Some of the best rugby players of all time have played for Randwick. Many are now rugby legends players such as Owen Crossman, Wally Meagher, Cyril Towers, the Windon brothers, Keith and Colin, Nick Shehadie, Ken Catchpole, Peter Johnson, Michael Cleary who still shares the record for the most individual tries in a club game (7) Russell Fairfax, the Ella brothers, Mark, Glen and Gary, Simon Poidevin, Phil Kearns, Ewen McKenzie, Warwick Waugh, Owen Finegan, David Knox, the greatest point scorer in Australian club rugby, David Campese, the most spectacular and talked about rugby player in the history of the game, Chris Whitaker and George Gregan, a long-standing Australian Captain.

Randwick men prominent in Australia's coaching ranks include Bob Dwyer (Rugby World Cup winning coach, former Australian and NSW coach), Eddie Jones (former Australian Capital Territory, Australian and later Queensland coach), Ian Kennedy (former NSW and Australian under 21 coach), Ewen McKenzie (current Wallaby coach) and Gary Ella (former Assistant Coach NSW) and Glen Ella (former Assistant Australian Coach and Australian 7s Coach).

Other Randwick players to coach NSW include, Cyril Towers, 1948, Wally Meagher 1953, 1954, 1958, Mick Cremin 1968, 1969, Bob Outterside 1972 and Jeff Sayle 1981. All were former Australian test players.

So far, the club has produced 101 Australian representative footballers and 195 New South Wales representatives. Since 1996, when rugby went professional, 11 Randwick men have made their first appearances for Australia and 33 have made their first appearances for NSW.

Current Team / Past Team